Take Five [december first]

Sometimes I just do not feel like talking about recovery. Sometimes I feel a bit like a broken record.

Lately I have been asking myself: how many ways can you tell somebody to ‘treat their body right’? How many ways can you insist someone reduce their exercises should they feel they are becoming too addicted? Please remember that although exercise is a healthy practice for the body and the mind, too much of anything can be detrimental to your physical and mental vitality.

So in order to fix this, ‘Take Five’ was born…

Untitled1

 

 

You may be thinking: ‘what?’ or ‘why?’, so allow me to explain:

A ‘Take Five’ post will:

  1. Not be related to any specific day or time. It will be whenever I feel like doing one. This could be once, twice or three times a week (or more). It could also not happen one week. This is not something to expect each week, like my Friday Five commitment [www.fitting-it-all-in.com];
  2. Not be related to the follow: fitness, wellness [though do not hold me to that], recovery or food. There is more the the world than those, and ‘Take Five’ posts will actively work to demonstrate this;
  3. Encompass five subtopics which could be highly related, or not related at all. I will include subtopic headers so that things do not become too confusing;
  4. Be open to topic suggestions! This will be done in one of two ways. First, you are welcome to comment on my page and/or email me with a question of interest (if your question does pertain to one of the aforementioned nontopics listed, while I mightn’t discuss it here, I will respond to your question. Or, alternatively, whilst meandering throughout blogs, I will collect five questions of proposed by bloggers and answer them. I will include a link to their page and tag them, as well, and lastly;
  5. Be a break from the general nature of this blog. Some topics might include: human rights, psychology, social issues, beliefs, make up and fashion, happiness, family, friends, etc. Please note that this is not an exhaustive list!

So here begins my first ‘Take Five’.
[due to the infancy of the idea all topics will be done in the latter of the two options, wherein I will collect five questions from fellow bloggers]

My Opinions of Black Friday

Okay, so basically I find it terrifyingly stupid. First of all, I do not at all like that there was any kind of association between the event and fatalities… That is just not OK. This aside, it brings me to this question: How said is it that we, as a society, have lost to true meaning of Christmas or the Holidays? The whole season has been boiled down to a huge retail event that harbours absolutely no true spirit and, in fact, leads to potential death.

That’s the Christmas spirit.

I know that Christmas is a time of giving, but why does that always need to be about materialistic things? Now, the issue here is I love to give (and am not a great receiver) so I do understand why it feels great to get that perfect gift. But honestly, if we are going to associate the xmas season with insane shopping days, death and fighting for a sale… there is just no point, at all. At least not to me.

What do you think of the philosophy, ‘Be the Change that you wish to see in the world”? Have you taken a leap of faith to work towards that? From Fit for the Soul @ http://www.fitforthesoul.com

While I do find that this is becoming much too common a musing, its strength does and always will appeal to me. It is somewhat in tune with the ‘treat others the way you want to be treated’, while advocating the idea that you are the only one who can make a change you want.

I am going to trail off a bit from the typical association with the quote, which likely encompasses involving yourself in activities to better the state of the world. I do believe that that is a very good interpretation of the quote and do believe, much alike the belief of ‘flow’, that we must always involve ourselves in various activities in order to feel optimal happiness. That said, that will not lay as the focus on this piece.

I am a huge believer in the rule of attraction. I believe if you are upset, angry and hateful toward the world around you, it is likely that the world will be upset, angry and hateful toward you. Some people walk around with a sour puss on their face because they are not happy about X or Y, and I always feel obligated to ask them why they do not constructively try to alter what gives them a feeling of discontent in order to adhere to their ideal life? But honestly, once people adopt this frame of mind, having them let go of it is near impossible.

No, I am not an alternative to this rule. I also have my moments. For example, some days, at work, I feel so disinterested in being there. As a result, time goes by slow, I make little sales, I feel exhausted and upset. Yet, when I tell myself to smarten up and have fun, I do! I mean, would I trade it in for a day at the spa? No. But I am not dreading it.

The take away here is, if you life is not what you want it to be, or if the world is not what you want it to be, you must change it for yourself. You can not wait for someone else to make it better. Only you can.

What are you looking forward to this month? From Fitnessista @ http://www.fitnessista.com

Well, obviously Christmas. Christmas movies, Christmas laugh. Anything that begins with a Christ and ends with a Mas. It is going to be a small Christmas, but that is fine with me. I am also looking forward to a break from school and commitments. I am looking forward to having TLC marathons and catching up on my leisurely reading. I am looking forward to relax-i taxi-ing. :)

What I do not understand about University females [some, not all]

I do like to look good. I do some make up and brush my hair. I wear clothes and not my PJs. That’s fine. What I do not understand is when girls come into a 9AM exam dressed up like it is a 9PM clubbing endeavour. Sure there are a number of eligible guys at my university and I guess it is always smart to ‘be prepared’ if you are a single girl [perhaps my looking at this through the eyes of girl who is very much involved, so does not try to impress guys at all] but really? A nine o’clock in the morning exam does not scream three pounds of make up and six inch heals, I am sorry.

Best thing to happen to you in November? From Running with Spoons @ http://www.runningwithspoons.com

Oddly enough, getting sick for a week. Last week, I became quite ill feeling. I was nearly bed ridden for a week, felt lethargic, did not want to do anything.

Sounds like a walk in the park, right?

Right. Aside from being completely out of commission, it gave me the opportunity to relax. My type A personality is really starting to take over me. I am beginning to ask myself ‘why’ over and over and over. Why am I putting so much stress on school? Why am worrying so much about my future? Why?

I do not suggest these are things I should not worry about at all. If I want to be an active member of society, I will need to succeed in these areas, but life is not all about your work. There needs to be a balance amid work and life. I think what is happening is, I am losing my need to identify as a student. I used to think my brains and intellect was all I had going for me. I had virtually nothing to connect with. So, if I did poorly in school, I felt a total failure.

Lately I have been trying to remember the other things I relate to: a reader, a writer, a wannabe baker and cake decorator, a wedding addict, a dog lover, a daughter, a girlfriend, a friend, a singer, a laugher and a movie lover. There is more,, but they are what comes to mind right now

I no longer just want to be a smart girl. I know that I am smart and am OK with that. I want to embrace all I am because I am not a one-dimensional individual. Getting sick allowed me to remember all the other aspects of my life, as I could not bring myself to study or anything. As a result I feel more calm and relaxed about school. And about life, as well.

Gotta take life light, right?

Feel free to answer the above questions yourself, rather virtually or to yourself (but I would love to know your answers.
What is your favourite philosophy?

Caitlyn.

Leave a Reply

