Banana Coconut Muffin

Have you ever had one of those days that was like:
“Wow, did they just happen? Yep… yeah… that just happened!”?

Well yesterday was one of those days for me.

Exhibit A:
019

Exhibit B:
022

That… just… happened.

If you know me but at all, you know that I am no baker. I am definitely the assistant, but not the baker. I’ve been known to burn cookies, or over-indulge in the baking soda, or just mess up a recipe like it was no one’s business.  Yesterday however was a different story.

I have decided not to get into too much detail, but yesterday was a very emotional day for me for a multitude of reasons. As a result, I knew I needed something to get my mind off of everything. So, I walked over to my oven, got a pad of paper, looked at what I had on hand and got to work.

Banana Coconut Muffins
Makes 9 muffins, but the recipe can easily be doubled.

General Base of Muffin:
1 cup of flour (I used whole wheat)
1 large banana, very ripe
1 egg white (you can use one whole egg)
1/4 cup cup 2% yogurt
1/4 cup honey
1 tsp baking powder
Cinnamon
1 tbsp oil

Added to enhance yumminess:
1 Laughing Giraffe Almond Vanilla Ball (http://www.thelaughinggiraffe.com/site/shop/vanilla-almond-snakaroons)

If you do not have these (which, you should), you can always substitute it for the following:
2 tbsp of unsweetened shredded coconut
1 tbsp of slivered almonds
1-2 tsp vanilla extract
1.5 tsp of honey
.5 tsp of coconut oil (this needs to be coconut oil, as it is thicker than most oils, if you don’t have coconut oil, try a thicker nut/seed butter)

You’ll want to combine these ingredients prior to making the muffins. Combine all ingredients, wrap in plastic wrap and put in the fridge for about one – two hours. The longer the better.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Combine all your dry ingredients together into a medium sized bowl (flour, baking powder, and cinnamon)
Microwave your banana for 10 seconds, then mush it up with a fork and add it into the center of your flour. Fold it in.
Begin to whip the banana into the flour mixture until the flour and banana create a larger mush (gotta love my terminology)
Add in the oil and egg and continue to whip really quickly. Then add in the honey and whip further.
Continue to do so until all ingredients are combine really well. You should not see any banana chunks or dry flour patches.
When perfectly mixed, take coconut-almond mixture and sprinkle it over the top.
Bake in the oven for 20 minutes, or until they be done!

Enjoy.

They’re quite good, these little guys. I am quite proud to say I came up with this on my own. :)
Honestly, I’ve always had an interest in baking. In fact, I love it. Well, the idea at least. But to actually sit down and do it, I’ve always been scared.
Try these out :) My mom loved them. So do I!

Maybe I have a hidden talent! Hmmmmmm

Leave a Reply

